“I AM THAT I AM”

“And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” Exodus 3:14 KJV

For over a week, we have been looking at the “I AM” declarations of Jesus.  Let’s take a step back and examine the initial declaration by God to Moses and how it relates to Jesus’ speeches. When the Lord said “I AM THAT I AM” He was explaining the meaning behind `His name “Jehovah” to give a better understanding of who He is. This very powerful statement signifies that:

  • God is self-existent: he has his being of himself.
  • He is eternal and unchangeable, the same, yesterday, today and forever.
  • He is incomprehensible; beyond finding out. It is beyond man’s intellectual ability to fully understand Him.
  • He is faithful and true to all his promises, unchangeable in his word as well as in his nature
  • He is the only God. “I am the LORD, and there is no other; apart from me.” (Isaiah 45:5).  All else have their being from God, and are wholly dependent upon Him.

Furthermore, I AM is a name that denotes what God is to his people. Moses was directed to tell the Israelites that they could expect God to quickly perform all the promises made unto their forefathers. Likewise, Jesus declared what we can expect as believers and who God is : Alpha, Omega, truth, life, salvation, resurrection, sustenance and so much more. When Jesus made these statements, He was being very bold and risked persecution under Jewish law for blasphemy. This is because the name “I AM” very much like “YHWH” was considered so sacred by the pharisees and priesthood, that it was not to be spoken. So when Jesus not only repeatedly said the words “I AM” but also used them to refer to Himself and His connection to the Father, it was considered a very rebellious move. But the religious leaders couldn’t touch Him until the appointed time. God’s glory had to be revealed through Christ.

Whatever we want, whatever we need, God’s answer is “I AM THAT I AM” Rejoice because God is all that and more!

Leave a Reply. I'd love to hear from you!

